Fishermen's News - The Advocate for the Commercial Fisherman

Today's Catch

 


In late December, a group of 51 Washington State legislators, 36 in the House and 15 in the Senate, signed a pair of identical letters to Bradley Smith the Chairman of the Washington Fish & Wildlife Commission, and the director of the Department of Fish and Wildlife, James Unsworth. The letter urged the state to prioritize increased recreational fishing over commercial fishing in State waters. Commercial fisherman Pete Knutson responded to his elected representative, who was one of the signatories of the “sport priority” letter. Here is his letter:

Dear Representative:

We were disappointed to read your co-signed December 7, 2016 letter to the Fish and Wildlife Commission, which advocated against the commercial fishing community on the Columbia River.

Our company, Loki Fish Company (lokifish.com), has been based in West Seattle since 1979. We market our fish from Alaska and Puget Sound every week at the West Seattle farmers’ market. We employ a dozen people and work with many subcontractors and independent fishermen.

The assertion in your letter that sport fishing is more valuable than the commercial contributions is not accurate. Sport fishing essentially recycles discretionary income, which has already been generated at a job. It’s a service industry which services a small and relatively affluent sector of our state’s population. In contrast, commercial fishing brings new wealth out of the water both in Washington State and in Alaska. It is a manufacturing industry that serves as access for the general public. The 2013 maritime study commissioned by the Economic Development Council of Seattle and King County finds that maritime industries are responsible for 30 billion dollars of economic activity. Sixty percent of that is generated by our state’s commercial fishing industry.

The primary sport fish organization that has pushed the Columbia River reallocation is the Coastal Conservation Association (CCA). You will never find this organization opposing developments that threaten salmon habitat, because they emerge from the oil industry. Not once have they spoken up about coal ports, deforestation or Snake River dam removal. They were founded by Walter Fondren, heir to the Exxon fortune. Nationally, they push the interests of wealthy sport fishermen over and against working communities. Local commercial fishing communities have legal standing to sue the oil industry in the event of a spill, whereas sport fishers do not. Thus demonizing commercial fishing communities is a business decision. The primary mission of the CCA has been to destroy commercial fishing communities, use short-sighted sport-fishing groups, while greenwashing their underlying motives. Journalist Robert Fritchey has documented the CCA history in his book Wetland Riders.

CCA Pacific Northwest Fisheries Director Heath Heikkila also represents the American Forest Resource Council. The AFRC is a powerful timber group, which pushed for the weakening of ESA protections as part of the Bush “Healthy Forest Initiative.” Heikkila earlier served as spokesperson for the Washington/Oregon industry “Astro-turf” group known as “Citizens for a Sound Economy”. This group supported the agricultural water withdrawals on the Klamath River, which resulted in a Chinook spawning disaster and consequent salmon-fishing closure of the Washington and Oregon Coast.

The CCA claim that hook and release sport fishing is “selective” is belied by the few studies which have tracked fish from release to spawning success. These studies on the Kenai River in Alaska, which we would be happy to share with you, demonstrate up to 50 percent spawning failure from a single hooking.

We hope you will reconsider your position on sport priority in fisheries. At this point in our state’s fight to preserve and enhance our natural resources, we should be building alliances, not pushing a fish grab.

Respectfully,

Pete Knutson

Loki Fish Company

Seattle, Washington

If you live in Washington State, the odds are pretty good that one of your elected representatives signed one of these letters. We suggest you use Pete’s letter as a model for your own letter to your representative. The signatories of the two letters and their contact information can be found below. –Ed

The following Washington State lawmakers want to put you out of a job.

Senator Jan Angel

Jan.Angel@leg.wa.gov

Senator Randi Becker

Randi.Becker@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Bruce Chandler

Bruce.Chandler@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Judy Clibborn

Judy.Clibborn@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Cary Condotta

Cary.Condotta@leg.wa.gov

Senator Steve Conway

Steve.Conway@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Jessyn Farrell

Jessyn.Farrell@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Jake Fey

ake.Fey@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Joe Fitzgibbon

Joe.Fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Roger Goodman

Roger.Goodman@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Mia Gregerson

Mia.Gregerson@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Dan Griffey

Dan.Griffey@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Larry Haler

Larry.Haler@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Paul Harris

Paul.Harris@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Dave Hayes

Dave.Hayes@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Laurie Jinkins

Laurie.Jinkins@leg.wa.gov

Senator Karen Keiser

Karen.Keiser@leg.wa.gov

Senator Curtis King

Curtis.King@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Dan Kristiansen

Dan.Kristiansen@leg.wa.gov

Senator Patty Kuderer

Kuderer.Patty@leg.wa.gov

Senator Marko Liias

Marko.Liias@leg.wa.gov

Rep. John Lovick

John.Lovick@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Drew MacEwen

Drew.MacEwen@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Joan McBride

Joan.McBride@leg.wa.gov

Senator Mark Miloscia

Mark.Miloscia@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Terry Nealey

Terry.Nealey@leg.wa.gov

Senator Steve O’Ban

Steve.OBan@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Ed Orcutt

Ed.Orcutt@leg.wa.gov

Senator Jamie Pedersen

Jamie.Pedersen@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Strom Peterson

Strom.Peterson@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Eric Pettigrew

Eric.Pettigrew@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Liz Pike

Liz.Pike@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Gerry Pollet

Gerry.Pollet@leg.wa.gov

Senator Ann Rivers

Ann.Rivers@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Jay Rodne Jay.Rodne@leg.wa.gov

Senator Christine Rolfes

Christine.Rolfes@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Cindy Ryu

Cindy.Ryu@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Joe Schmick

Joe.Schmick@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Mike Sells

Mike.Sells@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Tana Senn

Tana.Senn@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Derek Stanford

Derek.Stanford@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Drew Stokesbary

Drew.Stokesbary@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Gael Tarleton

Gael.Tarleton@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Steve Tharinger

Steve.Tharinger@leg.wa.gov

Senator Kevin Van De Wege

Kevin.VanDeWege@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Brandon Vick

Brandon.Vick@leg.wa.gov

Senator Maureen Walsh

Maureen.Walsh@leg.wa.gov

Senator Lynda Wilson

Lynda.Wilson@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Sharon Wylie

Sharon.Wylie@leg.wa.gov

Signatories Mike Hewitt, of the 16th Legislative District, and Luis Moscoso, from the 1st Legislative District, no longer hold office.

 
 

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017

Rendered 11/24/2017 00:54